Poetry (A to Z of everything or anything)

P

POETRY. Writing is a passion but I’ve sometimes struggled with poetry.

However, when the Scottish Book Trust announced its annual writing project Your Stories during lockdown, I thought I would give poetry another bash.

It called for Scots to send in poems or stories, inspired by true events and on the theme Future, to be shared as part of #BookWeekScotland (16-22 November 2020).

Book Week Scotland is an annual celebration of books and reading and is gone online this year due to covid-19 pandemic. You can find the full list of events here.

I penned a poem based the experience of home schooling my daughter during the springtime lockdown, and entitled it, Daughter.

I was absolutely delighted when my poem was chosen by the Scottish Book Trust as one of only 25 pieces picked from unpublished writers (in the traditional sense, not self-published) to sit alongside stories from a host of published authors in its Your Stories publication (available in bookshops, libraries and online here).

The Book Trust asked the authors to make audio recordings of their works for the audio version of the book. Little did I know they would use my recording to create a lovely little film, which you can watch below.

Leave a comment