(The) Dandy (A to Z of everything or anything)

D

(The) Dandy. Don’t know what I’m on about?

Then you don’t know comics – Dundee-based ones, at least.

The Dandy was a DC Thomson comic. Home of the rootin’ tootin’, cow pie-eatin’ cowboy, Desperate Dan, and Korky the Cat.

It was my introduction to comics. Every week after primary school, I’d get my copy of The Dandy from the local newsagents.

Desperate Dan
Desperate Dan

I enjoyed The Beano too and the shenanigans of Dennis the Menace, but there will always be a soft spot for Desperate Dan (of which there is a statue in his honour in the Scottish city). I was even in their respective fan clubs.

It is amazing to think they were among the best-selling comics in the UK for many years and two of the longest running comics. It’s hard to imagine that The Dandy debuted back in 1937, The Beano the following year, although it is sadly no longer in existence outside of the annuals.

Of course, nowadays, when you say comics, images of Marvel or DC heroes spring to mind, driven by their cinematic universes.

By far the best transition of comic to screen has to be Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse. Playing with both mediums to create a visual feast, it delivers a thrilling, funny and emotionally engaging story, whilst tipping its cap to previous incarnations of the webslinger in comics, tv and film.

And when it comes to comic strips, it has to be Calvin and Hobbes (with a great debt to Peanuts).

Part of the ritual of summer holidays when I was younger was getting a new book to read for the journey south to the Isle of Wight.

Yukon Ho!: Bill Watterson: 9780836218350: Amazon.com: Books
My introduction to the world of Calvin and Hobbes

And one of those summers I stumbled across Yukon Ho! – the third published collection of the Bill Watterson-penned strips – in the local Bargain Books store (wow, that is a blast from the past!).

My mum bought it for me and I have been hooked on the stories of the philosophising schoolboy, Calvin, and his feline toy companion, Hobbes, ever since.

They have been a huge influence and I can’t wait to introduce them to my own children.

At a time when our world is in upheaval, getting lost in the pages of a good comic is a perfect distraction.

In the words of Calvin, “Let’s go exploring!”

Leave a comment